Apple Ipod Shuffle and I-Tunes

I’m not a Mac fan.  I don’t love them.  I don’t use them.  However, all of their hype would make me think that their software would be amazingly simple to use, incredibly intuitive and a manual would never be required.

 I got an Ipod Shuffle (512) and have been playing with it.  I really like the device.  The dial thing is easy to use, it’s small, I can select between shuffle and playlist.  It’s just cool.

I don’t like that there’s no battery indicator.  I think that would be a handy feature.

I REALLY detest the I-Tunes software.  I have not found it intuitive at all.  It annoys the crap out of me that I’ve got to convert all of my WMA’s to AAC or whatever it is to be able to play them.  I also really annoys me that it puts all of the music on my computer. 

I will say that the Podcast subscription has been pretty easy to use.  Apple would probably cringe, but I have found that Technet has a bunch of IT related podcasts and it’s been fantastic for these.

I hate that when I add an album to the playlist for I-Tunes, that it adds them from the bottom up.  I like to listen to books on CD, and I can only tell you that this is FAR too painful to be able to actually use.  I took all of those files off and put just music on there.  With that, it’s not nearly as useful as I would have liked.  Music is fun, but it won’t make me money, or help me provide a higher level of service to clients.

The software for finding podcasts is pretty cool.  I find it annoying that I have to sign up for an account with them to see album art. 

Overall, I’d have to say that I like being able to listen to my music in the car or on the go, but when I get a Zune, I’ll be glad to retire this thing. 

Leave a Reply

