Dallas Fort Worth Small Business Server Partner Group

For the last couple of years, I’ve worked as the Secretary / Treasurer for the group of IT professionals with the DFW-SBS groups.  As part of our group, we have a Yahoo group to support the group: http://groups.yahoo.com/group/dfw-sbs.   It has been a fantastic resource for collaboration.  In large part, it is because of this group that I have come to have an inteerest in collaboration at all.  I have been AMAZED at the helpfulness of SO many people to help resolve issues that members are having. 

If you were to check out the group, you’ll see that a lot of times, I’m the one asking the dumb questions.  Despite that, they still let me hang out with them and admit to me being a member. In a lot of ways, I feel like (and I hope it is received as such) my contribution to the group is just to facilitate meetings and other group stuff.

As the Secretary / Treasurer of the group, I also interface with Culminis – a FANTASTIC support organization for IT professionals groups.  I have had a WONDERFUL time working with them, ESPECIALLY Stephanie Perkins.

I also get to be a part of an International group of individuals who have organized themselves as “Leaders of SBS Groups”.  I have learned a TON of information from them.  I have attended one meeting of these “leaders” a couple of years ago and have missed the last couple.  Despite this, I’ve had a great time lurking in the group and even post something every now and then.

If you’re not already plugged in with groups, I’d HIGHLY recommend it.

Leave a Reply

